UK Antarctic Heritage Trust House of Commons Event Monday 16 June 2014

200 invited guests attended a reception and exhibition in the Terrace Pavilion at the House of Commons on Monday 16 June 2014 organised by the UK Antarctic Heritage Trust and sponsored by David TC Davies MP. 



George James and David Willetts MP

George James, one of two surviving members of Operation Tabarin with The Rt Hon David Willetts MP, Minister of State for Universities and Science.  The Minister spoke of the Government's commitment for ensuring the continuation of Operation Tabarin's legacy.












L-R: David T C Davies MP, sponsor and David TC Davies Jane Rumble  Rachel Morganhost of the exhibition and reception; Jane Rumble, Head of the Polar regions Department of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Jane is only the fourth head in its 70 year history; Rachel Morgan, Director of the Trust.








 Donald Lamont and Rachel Morgan, Chairman and Director oDonald Lamont  Rachel Morganf the Trust. 










Alan Carroll, Base Leader at Port Lockroy 1955-6 and Alan Carrollauthor of the book 'Operation Tabarin'.












Father, son, and grandson:  Jonathan and Finn WJonathan  Finn Walton with sledalton are son and grandson of Kevin Walton who was on of the first members of the Falklands Islands Dependencies Survey which replaced Operation Tabarin.  All three have worked in Antarctica.  Jonathan brought for display his father's mukluks as well as a 1/6 scale Nansen sledge and pyramid tent.









Seasoned ice captain 'Captain Jack' with Trust OCaptain Jack  Anna Malaosperations Manager, Anna Malaos.
















Members of IAATO

Members of the International Association of Antarctic Tour Operators (IAATO) without whose help, the Trust could not operate on the Antarctic Peninsula - L-R - Dave Fletcher, Hapag-Lloyd; Karin Strand, Hurtigruten; Lisa Kelley, Lindblad Expeditions; Amanda Lynnes, IAATO; Skip Novak, Pelagic Expeditions; Rachel Morgan, Trust Director; Ulrike Schultzen, Hapag Lloyd.







Ruth Peacey

Ruth Peacey, assistant producer for the BBC Natural World 'Penguin Post Office' film, to be broadcast later this year.









Professor Jane Francis, Director of the British Jane Francis  Tudor MorganAntarctic Survey with Tudor Morgan, Special Project Manager for the Trust.
















Three quarters of next season's Port Lockroy team: Stephen Skinners Pheobe Boag  Sarah AuffretStephen Skinner, Phoebe Boag, and base leader, Sarah Auffret.